Institute of Politics announces fall Resident and Visiting Fellows

IOP fellows.
3 min read

The Institute of Politics at Harvard Kennedy School has announced the appointment of seven Resident Fellows and two Visiting Fellows who will join the IOP for the fall 2023 semester. The fellows bring diverse experience in politics, elected office, global diplomacy, judiciary affairs, and journalism to address the challenges facing our country and world today.

“We are incredibly excited to welcome this remarkable cohort of fellows to Harvard to engage and collaborate with our students,” said said IOP Director Setti Warren. “They embody the IOP’s mission of public service, and I am confident their diverse expertise and guidance will inspire this year’s students to pursue careers in public service and prepare the next generation for political leadership.”

“We are grateful to have such an extraordinary group of fellows at the IOP this fall. This cohort will bring unique and diverse perspectives on how to best approach some of our country’s most pressing challenges and will engage with our students in important conversations about an array of critical issues. We’re excited to welcome them to Cambridge,” said Michael Nutter, chair of the Institute of Politics Senior Advisory Committee, and former mayor of Philadelphia.

“We are delighted to extend a warm welcome to the esteemed members of the 2023 Fall Fellows Cohort as we embark on a new semester filled with engaging and thought-provoking endeavors,” stated Liz Benecchi ’25 and Sebastian Ramirez Feune ’25, co-chairs of the Fellows and Study Groups program at the IOP. “Our focus remains dedicated to fostering an inclusive environment within FSG, one that embraces a mosaic of ideas and identities — critical elements for shaping our nation’s political dialogue.”

Resident Fellows reside on campus, mentor a cohort of undergraduate students, hold office hours, and lead an eight-week, not-for-credit study group based on their experience and expertise. Visiting Fellows have a shorter stay and participate in a variety of comprehensive discussions, and events.

Resident Fellows:

Cheri Beasley: Chief Justice Supreme Court of North Carolina (2019-2020), U.S. Senate candidate (2022)

Rodney Davis: U.S. Representative (R, IL-13) (2013-2023)

Andrea R. Flores: Vice President of Immigration Policy & Campaigns at, former Director of Border Management on the National Security Council, former deputy director of immigration policy for the ACLU.

• Betsy Fischer Martin: Executive Director of the Women & Politics Institute at American University, former Executive Producer of NBC’s “Meet the Press.”

• Jonathan Martin: politics bureau chief and senior political columnist at POLITICO, former national political correspondent for The New York Times.

• Daniel Mulhall: Irish Ambassador to Malaysia (2001-2005), Germany (2009-2013), United Kingdom (2013-2017) and the United States (2017-2022)

• Jeff Rosen: Acting Attorney General of the United States and the Deputy Attorney General of the United States (2019-2021), Deputy U.S. Secretary of Transportation (2017-2019)

Visiting Fellows:

Roy Blunt: U.S. Senator (R-MO) (2011-2023), U.S. Representative (R, MO-7) (1997-2011), Missouri Secretary of State (1985-1993)

Susan Rice: Director of U.S. Domestic Policy Council (2021-2023), U.S. National Security Adviser (2013-2017), U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations (2009-2013)

More information can be found at