Five faculty elected to American Philosophical Society

Harvard Yard.

Harvard Yard on a summer day.

Jon Ratner/Harvard Staff Photographer

2 min read

The American Philosophical Society recently announced the selection of 37 new members, including five faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and Harvard Medical School. The five elected members have academic interests including gene mutations, affective forecasting, and the history of American music and culture.

The newly elected members of the APS are:

William G Kaelin, Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine, Dana-Faber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Christine Edry Seidman, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical institute; Thomas W. Smith professor in medicine and Genetics, Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Center, Brigham & Women’s Hospital

Daniel T. Gilbert, Edgar Pierce Professor of Psychology, FAS

Michèle Lamont, Robert I. Goldman Professor of European Studies, Professor of Sociology and of African and African American Studies, FAS  

Carol J. Oja, William Powell Mason Professor of Music and Professor of American Studies, Harvard University

The oldest learned society in the United States, the APS was founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743 and supports research through grants and fellowships, lectures, publications, exhibitions, and public education. The APS boasts of 976 elected members, 818 resident members, and 158 international members from more than two dozen countries. Previously elected members from Harvard include Lisa Randall, Frank B. Baird, Jr., Professor of Science, and Jill Lepore, David Woods Kemper ’41 Professor of American History.