Arboretum announces research award recipients

1 min read

The Arnold Arboretum is pleased to announce that it has granted several research awards to support studies that utilize the institution’s collections of living plants, herbarium specimens, and extensive library and archival resources. Awards were given to Laura Lagomarsino, Jorge Lora, Bharti Sharma, Hugh McAllister, and Claire Williams.

The Deland Award for Student Research was presented to Laura Lagomarsino, a Ph.D. student in the Davis Lab in the Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology at Harvard University. Lagomarsino is studying the evolution of secondary woodiness in the Lobelioideae, a primarily temperate group of herbaceous plants. Award funds will enable Lagomarsino to travel to Peru to collect plant specimens for the Herbarium of the Arnold Arboretum (A) and to advance her studies of wood anatomy. The Deland Award was established in 1992 through the generous bequest of F. Stanton Deland Jr., Harvard c’36, and supports research on the comparative biology of woody plants conducted by graduate and advanced undergraduate students.