2016–17 Tazuko Ajiro Monane and Noma-Reischauer Prizes awarded

Ash Asencios ’17 and Professor Wesley Jacobsen. Credit: Catherine Glover

1 min read

This year’s Tazuko Ajiro Monane and Noma-Reischauer Awards Ceremony, an annual tradition co-hosted by Harvard’s Japanese Language Program and the Edwin O. Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, honored a record number of students for achievements in Japanese language and humanities. The ceremony brought together an audience of over fifty attendees last Friday to celebrate the five 2016–2017 prize winners, all of whom demonstrated exceptional skill in areas ranging from conversational Japanese to translation of medieval Japanese texts to a cultural reading of femininity in Japanese society. Wesley Jacobsen, Director of the Japanese Language Program and Professor of the Practice of Japanese Language, opened the evening’s festivities by recognizing Monane Award recipients Ashley “Ash” Asencios ’17 and Shane Campayne ’19, both concentrators in East Asian Studies.