2010 Aga Khan Award for Architecture announces winners in Doha, Qatar

1 min read

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is presented every three years in recognition of exemplary projects in communities where Muslims have a notable presence. For the 11th award cycle, five winners were announced at a ceremony held at the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, Qatar, on Nov. 24, 2010.

GSD Dean Mohsen Mostafavi, Rahul Mehrotra, chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Design, and Farshid Moussavi, professor in practice of architecture, served on the award Steering Committee, chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan. Hanif Kara, Pierce Anderson Lecturer in Creative Engineering, was an on-site project reviewer.

The awarded projects are: Wadi Hanifa Wetlands, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; Revitalisation of the Hypercentre of Tunis, Tunisia; Madinat Al-Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain; Ipekyol Textile Factory, Edirne, Turkey; and Bridge School, Xiashi, Fujian, China.

On Nov. 25, 2010, Qatar University and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) held an international seminar at the Doha Grand Hyatt Hotel to mark the end of the 11th award cycle. Mostafavi was among the keynote speakers, and Moussavi and Kara also participated in the discussion.

A monograph featuring projects from the 2010 award, Implicate and Explicate, was published by Lars Müller Publishers.