Campus & Community

Savitz Prize awarded for best paper

1 min read

The Kennedy School’s Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group (ENRFG) has announced that this year’s Savitz Prize, given to the best paper written by master’s students in the area of environmental and resource policy, has been conferred upon Adriana Hochberg and Catherine Rauschuber, master of public policy (M.P.P.) students. Their winning paper examines the use of voluntary programs to improve corporate environmental performance, drawing lessons from eight case studies.

According to Robert Stavins, Albert Pratt Professor of Business and Government at the Kennedy School and chair of ENRFG, this year’s submissions were the best set received. The 2002-03 award committee consisted of three Kennedy School faculty members: Robert Frosch, Archon Fung, and Calestous Juma. The recipients of the Savitz Prize will receive a $1,000 honorarium.

The prize is supported by the Savitz Family Fund for Environmental and Natural Resource Policy. The fund also provides an award for the best paper written in the area by a Harvard doctoral student, as well as broad support for faculty research, writing, and outreach in the environmental and resource areas.