Campus & Community


4 min read

Dana Reed Prize Winners for 2000

Rachel Kovner ’01 has won the 2000 Dana Reed Prize for distinguished undergraduate writing. The Quincy House junior captured the $500 award for “This Man Is Running for President: What Alan Keyes Learned at Harvard,” a feature appearing in The Harvard Crimson of Feb. 3, 2000.

The Honorable Mention went to John Burton ’01 (Cabot House) for “Lorraine,” a short story published in The Harvard Advocate, the undergraduate literary journal.

Judges for this year’s competition were novelist Allegra Goodman; Jacob Weisberg, chief political commentator for the online journal Slate; and novelist Daniel Menaker, senior editor of Random House.

Awarded annually since 1948 by a group of alumni, the Dana Reed Prize honors the best writing in Harvard undergraduate publications. Previous winners have included Robert Crichton ’50, Michael Halberstam ’53, John Updike ’54, Sallie Bingham ’58, Paul Cowan ’62, Jacob Brackman ’65, James Fallows ’70, and Michael Kinsley ’72.

The prize commemorates Dana Reed ’43, who edited several undergraduate publications before he was killed during a World War II bombing raid.

Tu honored by Lehigh University

Tu Wei-Ming, the Harvard-Yenching Professor of Chinese History and Philosophy and of Confucian Studies and director of the Harvard Yenching Institute, delivered the baccalaureate address at Lehigh University on Saturday, June 3. On Sunday, June 4, Tu was presented with an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree at Lehigh’s Commencement.

Fallon receives teaching award at Law School

Professor of Law Richard Fallon, a constitutional law and federal courts specialist, has received the Albert M. Sacks — Paul A. Freund Award for Teaching Excellence from the Harvard Law School (HLS) Class of 2000.

Fallon was presented with the award during the HLS Class Day ceremonies, Wednesday, June 7, on the steps of Langdell Hall.

The graduating class gives the award every year to a faculty member to recognize commitment to excellence and demonstrated interest in the quality of the student experience.

Fallon’s courses include The Federal Courts and the Federal System, Constitutional Law Advanced: Foundations of Constitutional Wisdom, and Constitutional Law Advanced: The First Amendment’s Speech and Press Clauses.

Campos wins GSD Dean’s award

Tricia Campos, staff assistant in Fiscal Services at the Graduate School of Design, has been selected by the GSD Reward and Recognition Committee as the recipient of the School’s annual Dean’s Employee Excellence Award. Campos received a bonus and time off for demonstrating outstanding initiative, leadership, and commitment to quality.

Lathrop receives HLS Staff Appreciation Award

The Harvard Law School Class of 2000 has awarded the Staff Appreciation Award to John Lathrop, manager of the Holmes Hall Mail Room. Lathrop received the award during HLS Class Day ceremonies, Wednesday, June 7. The graduating class gives the award every year to a staff member to express gratitude for the employee’s respect of students, commitment to the student experience, and concern for the lives and work of students at Harvard Law School.

Faculty win publishing prize

Several Harvard faculty members were among the recipients of the Shingo Research and Professional Publication Prizes for 1999-00. Frederick H. Abernathy, Abbott and James Lawrence Professor of Engineering and Gordon McKay Professor of Mechanical Engineering; John T. Dunlop, Lamont University Professor, Emeritus; and Janice H. Hammond, UPS Professor of Business Logistics, won recognition for A Stitch in Time: Lean Retailing and the Transformation of Manufacturing – Lessons from the Apparel and Textile Industries (Oxford University Press), coauthored with David Weil of Boston University.

Business School Assistant Professor Steven Spear was cited for his Harvard Business Review article “Decoding the DNA of the Toyota Production System,” written with H. Kent Bowen, Bruce Rauner Professor of Business Administration.

Dunsky named to ADA commission

Joel Dunsky, assistant clinical professor in the Harvard School of Dental Medicine, was recently appointed to the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association. The commission has the responsibility for accreditation of the 55 dental schools in the United States as well as hospital dental training programs.