Campus & Community


4 min read

Cambridge declares June 7 Michael Shinagel Day

To honor Michael Shinagel, who will celebrate his 25th year as dean of Harvard’s Division of Continuing Education and University Extension this year, the City of Cambridge will declare June 7 as “Dean Michael Shinagel Day.” Shinagel will receive his proclamation from the Mayor Anthony Galluccio at the Extension School Alumni Banquet on Tuesday, June 6.

Sandel to speak at Salem, receive honorary degrees

Harvard College Professor and Professor of Government Michael J. Sandel will deliver the commencement address at Salem State College today (May 18) and will then receive an honorary degree. Brandeis University will also award Sandel with an honorary degree during its commencement exercises on May 21.

Clark Byse receives Silver Shingle Award

The Boston University School of Law has awarded the Silver Shingle Award to Clark Byse, Harvard Law School Byrne Professor of Administrative Law Emeritus.

The Silver Shingle Award is presented annually by the B.U. School of Law “in recognition of an individual’s notable contributions to the legal profession, leadership within the community, unfailing service to the School of Law and superlative contributions to society.”

A specialist in administrative law and contracts, Byse served as a visiting professor at Boston University after taking emeritus status at Harvard Law School in 1983. Byse was one of three recipients of the Silver Shingle Award this year.

Two from Harvard receive Dibner Fellowship

The Dibner Institute for the History of Science and Technology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.) has awarded Dibner Institute Fellowships for 2000-01 to Elizabeth Paris, lecturer in the history of science department at Harvard, and Rena Selya, a doctoral student in the history of science department.

Paris, who received one of eight postdoctoral fellowships, will continue her research on the development of colliding beam storage rings at the Dibner Institute. Selya was one of four Ph.D. candidates to receive the Dibner Graduate Fellowship. She will work on her dissertation, “Phage, Principles and Passion: The Life of Salvador E. Luria.”

The Dibner Institute is an international center for advanced research in the history of science and technology. Located at M.I.T., the Institute each year hosts senior, postdoctoral, and graduate student fellows, as well as symposia, conferences, lectures, and workshops. Selection of fellows is based on excellence and scholarly promise, without regard for need.

Mowry appointed Alan J. Dworsky Curator of Chinese Art

Robert D. Mowry has recently been appointed the first Alan J. Dworsky Curator of Chinese Art at Harvard’s Arthur M. Sacker Museum.

A generous friend and supporter of the Harvard University Art Museums (HUAM), Dworsky provided a major gift to establish an endowed fund, permanently supporting a curator of Chinese art.

“Robert Mowry is a leader in the field of Chinese art, renowned particularly for his knowledge of and eye for Chinese ceramics,” said James Cuno, Elizabeth and John Moors Cabot Director of the Harvard University Art Museums. “His exhibitions, publications, and lectures have made fundamental contributions to our knowledge of Chinese ceramics as well as Chinese paintings, bronzes, jades, Buddhist sculptures, and Korean paintings and ceramics. We are deeply grateful for Alan Dworsky’s generous support of Bob and this position.”

Mowry has served as curator of Chinese Art and the head of the Asian department since 1992.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences names 12 from Harvard as new fellows

Twelve men and women from the Harvard community have been inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

They are:

Biological Sciences: Joan S. Brugge, David E. Clapham, Stanley Korsmeyer, Hidde L. Ploegh, and Clifford J. Tabin.

Social Arts and Sciences: Lucian Arye Bebchuk, John Campbell, David T. Ellwood, and Andrei Shleifer.

Humanities: Dorrit Cohn, Robert D. Levin, and Kay Kaufman Shelemay.

The Academy, founded in 1780 by John Adams and other leaders of the young republic, was created as a learned society to bring together the country’s leading figures to exchange ideas and promote knowledge for the public interest.

Two graduate students win Weintraub Award for cancer research

Sandeep Robert Datta, HMS ’02, and Adriana Donovan, GSAS, were among 17 graduate students from across the country to win the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center’s newly established Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award.

The recipients are all advanced graduate students at, or near, completion of their studies in the biological studies. They were selected on the basis of the quality, originality, and significance of their work.

Dorer named Runyon-Winchell Fellow

Russell K. Dorer, MD, PhD, a clinical fellow in pathology, has won a Runyon-Winchell Postdoctoral Fellowship for cancer research from the Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell Foundation’s Cancer Research Fund in New York City. Dorer is one of 24 “outstanding young scientists” selected for the fellowship, which will fund their research activities for three years.