Film Study Center announces 2011-12 FSC-Harvard Fellows

2 min read

The Film Study Center at Harvard University (FSC) announces the list of FSC-Harvard fellows chosen for the 2011-12 academic year.

FSC-Harvard fellowships provide funding and technical resources for people doing compelling work in video, film, sound, or photography. These fellowships support advanced work, from the ethnographic to the experimental, that explores and expands the expressive potential of audiovisual media. The fellowships are open to Harvard faculty, graduate students, teaching assistants, teaching fellows, and postdoctoral and research fellows.

A wide range of works have been produced with the FSC’s assistance over the years. Historically important ethnographic films have included John Marshall’s The Hunters (1958) and Robert Gardner’s Forest of Bliss (1985). While nonfiction film and video continue to be a main focus of this fellowship, widely divergent strategies have also been supported, including animation, multimedia installation, and sound.

Fellows become part of a community of makers who participate in monthly gatherings where works in progress are shared and discussed. Fellows have access to recording and editing equipment, technical assistance. Fellowships can also include funds to help defray production or postproduction expenses.

The 2011-12 fellows are Aryo Danusiri, Toby Lee, Ruth Lingford, Cuilan Liu, Ross McElwee, Adam Muri-Rosenthal, Verena Paravel, Cozette Russell, J.P. Sniadecki, Stephanie Spray, and Julia Yezbick. Read more about them.