Campus & Community

Hunn Award honors seven for Schools Committee work

1 min read

The Hiram S. Hunn Memorial Schools & Scholarships Award is named in honor of Hiram S. Hunn, Class of 1921, who served Harvard’s Schools Committee for 55 years: 30 in Iowa and 25 in Vermont. Each year the Harvard Admissions Office honors some of its most loyal and longtime Schools Committee volunteers for their work all over the globe. This year’s recipients represent more than 170 years of dedicated service to Harvard College’s admissions process. The Hunn Award was initiated in 1990 to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Harvard Alumni Association. Dana Cotton was the first recipient of the award.

The 2009 Hunn Award recipients:

Robert R. Bowie Jr., ’73, Towson, Md.
Sheila Carr-Stewart, A.M.P. ’92, Edmonton, Alberta
John S. Higgins Jr., ’61, Visalia, Calif.
Barbara Long, A.M. ’73, Ph.D. ’82, of Atlanta, Ga.
Lidija Ortloff, ’82, Westwood, Mass.
Maria Patterson‚ ’70, New York, N.Y.
Nicholas C. Taylor, ’59, Midland, Texas