Campus & Community

Three receive HAA medal for extraordinary service to University

4 min read

The Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) has announced the recipients of the 2008 Harvard Medal: Susan L. Graham A.B. ’64, Richard M. Hunt Ph.D. ’60, and Stephen B. Kay A.B. ’56, M.B.A. ’58.

First given in 1981, the principal objective of the awarding of the Harvard Medal is to recognize extraordinary service to the University. Extraordinary service can be in as many different areas of University life as can be imagined, including teaching, fundraising, administration, management, generosity, leadership, innovation, or labors in the vineyards. President Drew Faust will present the medals during the annual meeting of the HAA on Commencement afternoon (June 5).

Susan Graham’s dedication and service to Harvard has been substantial. A Radcliffe class agent from 1979 to 1984, she eventually became active in the HAA as an elected director, serving in that capacity from 1997 to 2000. During this time, she co-chaired the HAA Communications Committee and was an active member of the HAA Continuing Education Committee. She also remained active at Radcliffe, serving for two years on the Radcliffe College Fund. Graham was then elected to Harvard’s Board of Overseers, serving from 2001 to 2007. She has been a leading member on a number of visiting committees, including ones to the then-Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study (serving as its first chair). She was elected president of the board of overseers for 2006-07. “This was a year of transition for the board, and Susan carried out her work, including serving on the search committee for a new president, with distinction,” according to the HAA.

She received an A.B. in mathematics from Harvard University, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from Stanford University. She is currently the Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita at the University of California, Berkeley. She is also a member of the board of trustees and treasurer of Cal Performances, the performing arts presenter of that university.

Richard M. Hunt was a Harvard faculty member for 42 years and University marshal from 1982 to 2002. He was also a senior lecturer in social studies. Since his retirement, he has remained involved in the Harvard community, serving on the Harvard Divinity School’s advisory committee and the dean’s advisory committee at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. He was a recipient of the GSAS Centennial Medal in 2004.

Hunt received his Ph.D. in history from Harvard, after receiving a master’s degree from Columbia University and a bachelor’s degree from Yale University. He held a number of administrative posts besides University marshal, including director of the Mellon Faculty Fellowship Program, assistant dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (1960-69), and associate dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (1970-77). He also served as chairman of the Faculty Committee on Religion and as a member of the social studies and Center for European Studies committees.

He is a life trustee of American Field Service, a member of the International Council for the Museum of Modern Art, and vice chair of the American Council on Germany.

A former Harvard Overseer (1993-99), Stephen Kay was elected vice chairman of its executive committee for 1998-99, and he served as vice chair and chair of the board’s Standing Committee on Finance, Administration, and Management. He is a member of the Committee on University Relations and was co-chair of 1956’s 50th reunion gift committee. He previously co-chaired the class’s 35th, 40th, and 45th reunions. Kay is a former chair of the School of Public Health Visiting Committee and is currently a member of the dean’s council. In 1988, he was a fellow at the Kennedy School of Government’s Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government. He has supported, financially and with his time, numerous Harvard projects and activities.

Kay is a senior director of Goldman Sachs & Company and is involved in many local nonprofit organizations, including chairman of the board of Brandeis University from 2001 to 2007. He is a trustee, member of the executive committee, and chairman of the investment committee at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is a trustee and former chairman of the board of Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital. He was also the first chair of Care Group, an integrated health care delivery network associated with Harvard hospitals.