Campus & Community

IOP announces internships and thesis funding

3 min read

The Institute of Politics (IOP), located at Harvard Kennedy School, Monday (June 9) announced the selection of 42 undergraduate students, chosen from a pool of 275 candidates, for paid summer political internships.

These students will meet with and learn from leading academics, policymakers, and politicians at high-profile organizations to further their interest in politics and public affairs. In addition, the IOP is providing financial assistance to nearly 135 current Harvard undergraduates for help in securing public service summer jobs and to rising seniors conducting summer thesis research.

The Director’s Internship Program, under the leadership of IOP Director Jim Leach, selects and funds summer interns with a stipend of $3,500 to $4,000 to help cover living expenses during the eight- to 10-week internships.

“Our internship programs offer a close-up look at exciting opportunities in politics, public affairs, and government,” said Leach. “Supporting challenging internships is a key way to encourage more students to pursue careers in public service.”


Nworah Ayogu, Valley Trust, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Brian Bolduc, Winston Group, Washington, D.C.

Kendra Boothe, William J. Clinton Foundation – Clinton Climate Initiative, Rome

Jason Burke, Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick, Boston

Flavio Campos, Albright Group, Washington, D.C.

Christopher Chen, U.S. Sen. Edward M. Kennedy, Washington, D.C.

Quinn Dang, Harvard Kennedy School’s Vietnam Program, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Zeina Fayyaz, William J. Clinton Foundation, New York City

Meryl Federman, Obama for America, Chicago

Andrea Flores, Women for Women International, Washington, D.C.

Kimberly Foster, Black Leadership Forum, Washington, D.C.

Matthew Foushee, Heritage Foundation, Washington, D.C.

Katherine Harris, Parliament: Liberal Democrat MP for Cambridge David Howarth, London

Jonathan Hawley, California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sacramento, Calif.

George Hayward, U.S. Senator Barack Obama, Washington, D.C.

Samuel Jacobs, Doris Kearns Goodwin Research, Boston

Michael Jaskiw, Kennan Kyiv Project, Kiev, Ukraine

Feifei Jiang, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Vienna, Austria

Richard Kelley, Phillips Brooks House Association Summer Urban Program, Boston

Mallika Khandelwal, U.S. Department of Labor, Washington, D.C.

Markus Kolic, 2008 Democratic National Convention, Denver

Deborah Kuhn, Resources for the Future, Washington, D.C.

James Larkin, Parliament: Office of Labour MP Ed Miliband, London

Alee Lockman, 2008 Republican National Convention, Minneapolis-Saint Paul

Joanna Marquina, FONASA (Chilean National Health Bureau), Santiago, Chile

Tanuj Parikh, New York City Economic Development Corporation, New York City

Kevin Prior, City of London Corp., London

Will Quinn, John McCain 2008, Arlington, Va.

Alayna Rodriguez, U.S. Sen. Chuck Hagel, Washington, D.C.

Jackson Salovaara, Jeanne Shaheen for Senate, Manchester, N.H.

Richard Serna, Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, Los Angeles

Julia Silverman, Valley Trust, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Katherine Smith, MTV Office of Strategic Partnerships, New York City

Jon Staff, Colbert Report, New York City

Rachel Stark, National Democratic Institute for International Affairs, Washington, D.C.

Nick Tabor, “The Hotline,” Washington, D.C.

Raquel Toledo, Ministry of Health, Mexico City

Upasana Unni, U.S. Sen. Hillary Clinton, Washington, D.C.

Tara Venkatraman, Be the Change, Boston

Susan Yao, Mayor Thomas Menino, Boston

Isabel Yoon, National Assembly, Seoul, South Korea

Sarah Zhang, MacArthur Foundation, Chicago

Additionally, more than $5,000 in IOP funding will be distributed among four rising seniors conducting thesis research in politics or government. The recipients are Wangui Muigai, Kelsey Quigley, Gabe Scheffler, and Robert Sneckenberg.