Campus & Community

Shorenstein Center names Goldsmith Award winner

2 min read

The Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy has announced that former managing editor of The Wall Street Journal Paul E. Steiger will receive its Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism on March 18 at 6 p.m. at Harvard Kennedy School’s (HKS) John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum. The chairman of the Committee to Protect Journalists and editor in chief of ProPublica, a new nonprofit investigative journalism organization, Steiger will lead “The Present and Future of Investigative Reporting” on March 19 — a panel discussion with the Goldsmith Finalists for Investigative Reporting.

The finalists include Joshua Kors for his piece “Thanks for Nothing” (The Nation); Walt Bogdanich for “A Toxic Pipeline” (The New York Times); Tom Dubocq for “Palm Beach County’s Culture of Corruption” (The Palm Beach Post); Loretta Tofani for “American Imports, Chinese Deaths” (The Salt Lake Tribune); Dana Priest and Anne Hull for “The Other Walter Reed” (The Washington Post); and Barton Gellman and Jo Becker for “Angler: The Cheney Vice Presidency” (The Washington Post).

“The Present and Future of Investigative Reporting” will be held in the Taubman Building of HKS from 9 to 11 a.m. Both the award presentation and panel discussion are open to the public.