Campus & Community

Harvard Foundation honors Knowles, students

2 min read

The Harvard Foundation recently honored members of the University community who have made outstanding contributions to improving intercultural and race relations at the College. More than 40 students and one distinguished faculty member were presented with awards at the annual Harvard Foundation Student/Faculty Awards Dinner held on May 4 at Quincy House in memory of David S. Aloian, former Quincy House master. Faculty, administrators, and House masters nominated the award recipients, who were then chosen by the faculty and student advisory committee of the Harvard Foundation.

The Distinguished Senior Awards for Excellence in Leadership were presented to Natasha Alford, Erin Garner, Jennifer Green, Chas Hamilton, Kevin Koo, Leah Lussier, Ryshelle McCadney, Christine Megerdichian, Lindsey Olier, Owais Siddiqui, Teddy Styles, and Maria Troein. Siddiqui also received an award of Peer Recognition, having been nominated and recommended by his peers, particularly for his work as co-director of Cultural Rhythms 2006, for his efforts with the Harvard Islamic Society and the Harvard College in Asia Project, and for his leadership in the Earthquake Relief Coalition, through which he helped organize a candlelight vigil, charitable comedy show, and fundraising banquet.

The 2007 Harvard Foundation Insignia Awards were given to students who have displayed a sustained effort in improving intercultural understanding and racial harmony at Harvard College. The student winners include Chimaobi Amutah ’07, Robin Bellows ’09, Simi Bhat ’08, Matt Clair ’09, Filip Filipov ’07, Layusa Isa-Odidi ’09, Francis Kim ’07, Muriel Payan ’08, Marisol Pineda-Conde ’08, Deena Shakir ’08, Shawna Strayhorn ’07, Beatrice Viramontes ’08, Khalid Yasin ’07, and Armen Yerevanian ’08.

The Harvard Foundation also recognized several undergraduates, mostly freshmen and sophomores who have begun to make notable contributions to race relations at Harvard College, with a Certificate of Recognition. The recipients include Nworah Ayogu ’10, Matthew Bresnahan ’09, Pia Dandiya ’09, Denise Diaz ’08, Petros Egziabher ’09, Elizabeth Eve ’10, Nadia Gaber ’09, Ariel Huerta ’08, Samad Khurram ’09, Kelsey Leonard ’10, Amanda Mangaser ’10, Louizza Martinez ’09, Edad Mercier ’09, Vani Nambudiri ’09, Jennifer O’Brien ’07, Christopher Pak ’08, Leah Pillsbury ’07, Alicia Rodriguez ’07, Lumumba Seegars ’09, Richard Serna ’10, Arjun Vasan ’07, and Shanai Watson ’07.

To acknowledge his support of the mission of the Harvard Foundation and his contributions to its programs, Jeremy R. Knowles, the Amory Houghton Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and interim dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, was named the recipient of the 2007 Distinguished Faculty award. His wife, Jane Knowles, librarian/archivist at the Schlesinger Library, was present to receive the award on his behalf.