Campus & Community


2 min read

Schlesinger Library archivist Kraft honored with ACRL award

Schlesinger Library archivist Kraft honored with ACRL award

Katherine Kraft, archivist at the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, was recently honored with a Women’s Studies Section Award from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Sponsored by Routledge Press, the award – which includes a $500 prize – honors a significant contribution to women’s studies librarianship. Kraft is being honored for her accomplishments as lead archivist of a National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) grant to make some of the library’s most significant holdings accessible to researchers.

Together with manuscript processors Cheryl Beredo and Johanna Carll, Kraft processed nearly two dozen collections representing the post – World War II women’s movement, including the records of the National Organization for Women and the Women’s Equity Action League.

Gordon receives engineering achievement award

Christopher M. Gordon, chief operating officer (COO) for Harvard’s Allston Development Group, was recently presented with the 2006 New England Achievement Award on behalf of the Engineers Week in Boston Committee, a division of The Engineering Center (a not-for-profit association management company). The annual award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievements, commitment to public service, and support of the engineering profession.

Shorenstein Center honors news anchor Lehrer

Jim Lehrer, the award-winning executive editor and anchor of “The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer,” received this year’s Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism on Tuesday (March 14) at the John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum at the Kennedy School of Government. Awarded by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy since 1991, the Goldsmith Awards program also includes a $25,000 prize for investigative journalism and two $2,500 book prizes.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks