Campus & Community


2 min read

Sophomore is named Lehrman Scholar

Harvard sophomore Thomas Wolf has recently been named one of 12 Gilder Lehrman History Scholars selected from more than 400 candidates nationwide. Wolf will be flown to New York for an exclusive eight-week program that combines research training, seminars with eminent historians, and behind-the-scenes tours of rare archives. Following his summer research, Wolf will have the opportunity to publish his findings.

Wasserman wins inaugural Sorensen Award

Noam T. Wasserman (M.B.A. ’99, M.A. ’01, Ph.D. ’02), postdoctoral fellow in business administration, has won the Harvard Sociology Department’s first Aage Sorensen Award for his paper “Founder – CEO Succession and the Paradox of Entrepreneurial Success,” published in the March-April issue of Organization Science. The award recognizes the best research paper written by a graduate student in the department seeking to qualify for the Ph.D.

University of Varna honors Kornai

János Kornai, Allie S. Freed Professor of Economics Emeritus, received an honorary doctorate from the University of Varna, Bulgaria, for his contributions to the understanding of socialist economies and postsocialist transition, and his activities in public service. The distinction was a response to the impact of Kornai’s writings, including two books and several papers that were published in Bulgaria, on the country’s intellectual community.

Carter named National Academy of Education Fellow

Assistant Professor of Sociology Prudence Carter has been chosen to be a 2003-04 National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow. Carter joins 33 other recent recipients of the doctorate selected to receive the $50,000 award, which is given to assist with salary replacement and research expenses.

Chatham College bestows Scarry honorary degree

Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and General Theory of Value Elaine Scarry received an honorary degree from her alma mater, Chatham College, this past Sunday (May 18) at the college’s 131st commencement. A 1968 graduate of the college – one of the nation’s oldest still awarding undergraduate degrees solely to women – Scarry was a featured speaker at the ceremony.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks