Campus & Community

Harvard Foundation honors race relations efforts

2 min read

The Harvard Foundation for Intercultural and Race Relations honored 40 students and three house masters at its annual awards dinner on April 29 at Quincy House. Dean of Harvard College and Quincy House Associate Harry R. Lewis, who delivered the keynote speech, received a surprise award from President Lawrence H. Summers, and the students and faculty of the Harvard Foundation, for his generous support of the foundation’s work.

Additionally, seven students were presented with the Distinguished Senior Award for exemplary efforts toward the mission of the Harvard Foundation. The 2003 recipients of the senior award are Margaret Chinwe Anadu, Marcel L. Anderson, Roberto Gradilla, Melissa Yvonne Luna, Kathleen Robinson, Brian Alejandro Sandoval, and Ethan Yih Yeh.

Outgoing house masters also received special recognition for their unique contributions to the mission of the Harvard Foundation. Receiving awards were William and Barbara Graham, co-masters of Currier House; Paul Hanson and Cynthia Rosenberger, co-masters of Winthrop House; and James and Janice Ware, co-masters of Cabot House.

“The president and deans have joined me in saluting the work of these fine students and faculty who have made very significant contributions to our efforts to make Harvard an exemplary community of intercultural civility and racial harmony,” said S. Allen Counter, director of the Harvard Foundation.

Other students receiving awards for their outstanding contributions to the foundation’s mission and programs were David Anderson ’03, Leyla Bravo ’05, Clarence Meat ’05, Victoria Shannon ’03, Scott Rechler ’03, Catherine Honeyman ’04, Tiffany McNair ’03, Proscilla Orta ’05, Jason Young ’04, Candice Chiu ’03, Hana Habayeb ’04, Allana Jackson ’03, Judith Vasquez ’03, Wendy Caceres ’03, Monique James ’03, Johanna Paretzky ’03, Brian Clair ’05, Saritha Komatireddy ’05, Niles Lichtenstein ’05, Stephanie Paiz ’05, Claudia Garcia ’05, Jia Han ’05, Ellen Yiadom ’06, Dina Maxwell ’06, Sophia Lai ’05, Dennis Chira ’05, Dennis Hsieh ’03, Alonzo Sherman ’03, Minnie Quach ’03, Gigi Parris ’03, Julia Amanda Hiatt ’03, Eraklis Stamelos ’04, and Gerald Williams Jr. ’03.