Campus & Community


2 min read

Antin named president-elect of ASBMT

Joseph H. Antin, chief of the Adult Oncology Stem Cell Transplant Service at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, has been named president-elect of the American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (ASBMT). An associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, Antin will assume the presidency in 2003.

Barba, Jost win Bowdoin Prize

Susan E. Barba and Manda Clair Jost have been awarded the 2001-02 Bowdoin Prize for graduate student essays in English and the natural sciences, respectively. Barba, who is working on her doctorate in comparative literature, received the prize for her essay titled “Trying to Achieve the Impossible: Lyric Closure in Thomas Hardy’s ‘Winter Words.’” Jost, a researcher in the Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, won for her essay “Gessner’s Hyena and the Telephone Game.” The Bowdoin Prize includes a $6,000 award.

Seniors selected to USA Today’s Academic Team

USA Today has named senior Vera Keller to its All-USA Academic First Team. A history and literature concentrator from Rifton, N.Y., Keller received a $2,500 award for her outstanding undergraduate achievements, and is among only 20 college students nationwide to be named to the First Team. Seniors Albert Cho and Ravi Shah were named to the Second Team.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks