Campus & Community

Murphy named ‘Coach of the Year’

2 min read

Coach Tim Murphy, who guided the Ivy League Champion Harvard football team to its first undefeated, untied season since 1913, has been named New England Division I-AA Coach of the Year by the New England Sportswriters Association. This is Murphy’s third selection as Coach of the Year and is his second honor as the Crimson coach. He was first selected in 1987 after leading the University of Maine to an 8-4 record and the team’s first-ever 1-AA playoff bid. Ten years later, he nabbed his second nomination after leading the Crimson to a 9-1 record and the Ivy championship.

Receiver Carl Morris ’03 caught some attention of his own from the sportswriters association, winning the Coca Cola Gold Helmet Award as New England’s Division I Player of the Year. The economics major set school records for receptions (71), reception yards (943), and touchdowns catches (12). Morris was also named the 2001 Ivy League Player of the Year and is both a First Team All-Ivy recipient and All-New England honoree.

All said, six Harvard players were named All-New England. Quarterback Neil Rose ’02, offensive guard Justin Stark ’02, defensive end Marc Laborsky ’02, linebacker Dante Balestracci ’04, and strong safety Andy Fried ’02 were also selected.

Murphy, Morris, and company will be honored as part of the association’s annual banquet this evening (Thursday, Dec. 6) at Lantana’s in Randolph.