Campus & Community


2 min read

Speizer and Willett win prestigious Mott Prize

Professors Frank E. Speizer, the Edward H. Kass Professor of Medicine, and Walter C. Willett, the Fredrick Stare Professor of Epidemiology and Nutrition, have been awarded the Charles S. Mott Prize by the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation for their major contributions to cancer research. These awards, valued at $250,000 each, are among the most prestigious in the field of medicine.

Speizer and Willett were cited for creating and sustaining the Nurses’ Health Study, as well as two companion studies, which have generated some of the most important epidemiological findings in cancer research and the study of public health.

KSG Faculty Group selects Savitz Prize recipients

The Kennedy School’s Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group has selected Karin Larsen and Scot Gallaher, both M.P.A./ID (International Development) students, as this year’s Savitz Prize recipients for their paper “Private Equity Investment in the EU Accession Accelerated Privatizing Electricity Market in Poland.” The Savitz Prize, which includes a $1,000 honorarium, is given for the best paper written by an M.A. student in the area of environmental and natural resource policy.

An award committee made up of Charles Foster, Robert Frosch, Archon Fung, Arnold Howitt, Calestous Juma, Henry Lee, and Robert Stavins selected the winner from a set of outstanding submissions from students in the M.P.P., M.P.A., and M.P.A./ID programs.

Last month, the Savitz Fellow Award for the best paper by a Ph.D. student was awarded to Nathaniel Keohane. Keohane, who received a $5,000 honorarium, will receive his Ph.D. in Political Economy and Government today.

The faculty committee for that award consisted of professors William Clark, William Hogan, John Holdren and Robert Stavins.

The Savitz Prize and the Savitz Fellow Award are funded by the Savitz Family Fund for Environmental and Natural Resource Policy, which provides support both for students in the Kennedy School’s M.A. and Ph.D. programs and for faculty research, writing, and outreach in the environmental and resource areas. The Fund is administered by the school-wide Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group, chaired by Robert Stavins.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks