Finalists for the 2022 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

2 min read

The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School is proud to announce the six finalists for the 2022 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting. The Goldsmith Prize, founded in 1991 and funded by a gift from the Greenfield Foundation, honors the best public service investigative journalism that has made an impact on local, state, or federal public policy or the practice of politics in the United States. Finalists receive $10,000, and the winner – to be announced at a virtual ceremony on April 5 – receives $25,000. All prize monies go to the journalist or team that produced the reporting. 

“Every day, we are reminded of journalism’s essential role protecting communities, empowering citizens and holding the powerful accountable,” said Nancy Gibbs, director of the Shorenstein Center. “Even as many newsrooms face unprecedented challenges, this year’s Goldsmith Prize finalists represent the very best in Public Interest Journalism.” 

The 2022 Goldsmith Prize winner will be announced at the awards ceremony in Cambridge (and livestreamed online) on April 5. Read on to learn more about this year’s honorees, and visit to learn more.

2022 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting Finalists

Wires and Fires

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Raquel Rutledge, John Diedrich, Daphne Chen 

Juvenile Injustice, Tennessee

Nashville Public Radio’s WPLN News and ProPublica
Meribah Knight, Ken Armstrong 

Sacrifice Zones:Mapping Cancer-Causing Industrial Air Pollution

ProPublica, in collaboration with The Texas Tribune and Mountain State Spotlight
Lylla Younes, Al Shaw, Ava Kofman, Lisa Song, Max Blau, Maya Miller, Kiah Collier, Alyssa Johnson and Ken Ward, Jr. 


The Tampa Bay Times with support from PBS FRONTLINE
Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington and Eli Murray  

FEMA’s Disasters

The Washington Post
Hannah Dreier, Andrew Ba Tran 


The Wichita Eagle/
Chance Swaim, Michael Stavola  

To learn more about the Goldsmith Awards and the 2022 Finalists, visit