American Academy of Arts & Sciences elects 16 Harvard affiliates

A gate along Quincy Street

Harvard gate. Stephanie Mitchell/Harvard Staff Photographer

2 min read

Sixteen scholars from the Harvard community were among the 261 new members elected to join the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The news was announced April 28.

Carolyn Abbate

Paul and Catherine Buttenwieser University Professor, Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS)

Sven Beckert

Laird Bell Professor of History, FAS

Eve Blau

Adjunct Professor of the History and Theory of Urban Form and Design and Director of Research, Harvard Graduate School of Design

Suzanne Preston Blier

Allen Whitehill Clowes Professor of Fine Arts and Professor of African and African American Studies, FAS

Guy-Uriel E. Charles

Charles Ogletree, Jr. Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

Erica Chenoweth

Frank Stanton Professor of the First Amendment at Harvard Kennedy School and Susan S. and Kenneth L. Wallach Professor at the Harvard Radcliffe Institute

Susan M. Dynarski

Patricia Albjerg Graham Professor of Education at Harvard Graduate School of Education

Gordon J. Freeman

Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and researcher at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Claudine Gay

Edgerley Family Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and Wilbur A. Cowett Professor of Government and of African and African-American Studies, FAS

Chenghua Gu

Professor of Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School

Mark Kisin

Perkins Professor of Mathematics, FAS

Matthew L. Meyerson

Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, Professor of Pathology and Medical Oncology and Director of Center for Cancer Genome Discovery at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Marsha A. Moses

Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor of Surgery, Surgery at Harvard Medical School

Andrew G. Myers

Amory Houghton Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology in FAS

Elie Tamer

Louis Berkman Professor of Economics, FAS

Leslie G. Valiant

Jefferson Coolidge Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics, Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

View the list of the 2022 academy members from Harvard.