Campus & Community

Three winners of the Howard T. Fisher Prize announced

1 min read

The Committee for the Howard T. Fisher Prize in Geographical Information Science has announced three recipients of the award for the 2009-10 academic year.

In the undergraduate category, Tiziana Smith ’11 was awarded for “A Spatial Analysis of Predictors of Ambient Sulfur Dioxide Concentrations in the United States.” Graduate students Katherine Levine, a government student in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and Yuin Mae Ng of the Graduate School of Design, shared the award for their papers “Explaining Metropolitan Political Polarization: Political Segregation in New York City, Chicago, and Los Angeles” and “Quantifying Greening Opportunities in Urban Areas,” respectively.

The goals of the Fisher Prize are to promulgate and reward geospatial work at Harvard across a wide range of disciplines and techniques. Visit the Web site for more information on the winners.