Campus & Community

In brief

3 min read


Twenty-four Harvard juniors were recently elected to Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), the nation’s oldest undergraduate honors organization. Their names and concentrations follow:

Adams House: Charles Robert Drummond, history; Samuel Felix Lichtenstein, math; and Alexander William Marcus, economics

Dunster House: Marta Maria Figlerowicz, English, and Ravi Bharat Parikh, psychology

Eliot House: Shira Arkin Mitchell, math

Leverett House: Isha Agarwal, chemical and physical biology and women, gender, and sexuality studies; Marina Fisher, linguistics; Rachel Jennifer Gottlieb, molecular and cellular biology; Matthew Joseph Hall, music and linguistics; Noah Louis Nathan, government; Elissa Leechawengwongs, economics and East Asian studies; and Zeba Almas Syed, religion

Lowell House: Charles Jonathan Redlick, applied mathematics

Mather House: Andrew Clark Miller, social studies, and Malorie Nicole Snider, anthropology

Pforzheimer House: Kevin Michael Jonke, social studies, and Paul Jeffrey Ramirez Leopando, anthropology

Quincy House: Julia Elizabeth Schlozman, history of art and architecture; Tharanga Niroshini Senaratne, biology; and Jimmy Chen Yang, biochemical sciences

Winthrop House: Kyle Adam Mahowald, English; Allison Kate Turbiville, economics; and Lauren Elizabeth Yapp, history


The Office of the Dean for Academic and Clinical Programs at Harvard Medical School (HMS) has announced a new fellowship available to HMS faculty and postdoctoral students. The LAM Treatment Alliance Folkman Fellowship is dedicated to the late M. Judah Folkman, who initiated the LAM Fellowship specifically for postdoctoral trainees at the School and affiliated hospitals.

A two-year fellowship is available in basic, clinical, or translational research that advances the mission of finding an effective treatment for lymphangioleiomyomatosis (LAM). Candidates are encouraged to draw from their training in pulmonary medicine, cancer biology, endocrinology, molecular biology, biochemical engineering, molecular imaging, and immunology.

The application deadline is May 1.  For more information, visit contact


The East Asian Legal Studies (EALS) program at Harvard Law School (HLS) is accepting submissions of papers for the Yong K. Kim ’95 Memorial Prize. The prize is awarded to the author of the best paper concerning the law or legal history of the nations and peoples of East Asia or concerning issues of law as it pertains to U.S.-East Asia relations. The author should also embody Yong Kim’s interest in and enthusiasm for fostering U.S.-East Asian understanding, plan a career that will further advance this understanding, and have made contributions to EALS while a student. The paper can be written in conjunction with a course, seminar, or independent study project at the Law School.

The prize includes a cash award and will be announced at Commencement.

Submissions (two bound or stapled copies) must be received at the EALS office, Pound Hall, Room 426, HLS, by May 2 and should include the student’s name, School, class level, e-mail address, and phone number. Contact Juliet Bowler at with questions.

— Compiled by Andrew Brooks