Campus & Community

NAS elects five Harvard faculty members

2 min read

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced this past Tuesday (May 1) the election of five Harvard affiliates among its 72 new members and 18 foreign associates. Members are chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The election was held during the business session of the 144th annual meeting of the academy. This year’s new class brings the total number of active members to 2,025. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the academy, with citizenship outside the United States. The total number of foreign associates is 387.

NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

The newly elected members from Harvard include Michael B. Brenner, the Theodore Bevier Bayles Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School (HMS); Gerald Gabrielse, Leverett Professor of Physics; Curtis T. McMullen, Maria Moors Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences; Jonathan Seidman, Henrietta B. and Frederick H. Bugher Foundation Professor of Genetics, HMS; and Clifford J. Tabin, professor of genetics, HMS.