Campus & Community

Eight additional 2006-07 Fulbright Visiting Scholars named

2 min read

Eight additional Harvard affiliates have recently been named Visiting Fulbright Scholars for the 2006-07 academic year. The initial group of Harvard Fulbright Scholars – composed of nine recent Harvard College graduates and 14 current and former students of the University – was announced in the Aug. 24 issue of the Harvard Gazette (available online at

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, participating governments, and host institutions in the United States and abroad, these exchange programs promote mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the citizens of other countries. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has sent approximately 103,000 American scholars to other parts of the world for study and research, while welcoming nearly 171,000 visiting scholars to the United States.

The following Fulbright Visiting Scholars will be resident on the Harvard campus this academic year. The list includes each recipient’s field of study and home country.

Nizar Atrissi (business and management, Lebanon); Michael Boyden (literary studies, Belgium); Ramon Canal Corretger (computer architecture, Spain); Makevitage Jayawardene (biochemistry, Sri Lanka); Norma Silvana Lanciotti (economics, Argentina); Hsiao-yen Peng (Chinese literature and philosophy, Taiwan); and Catherine Therese Turner (nursing, Australia); and Ramida Watanapokasin (biochemistry, Thailand).