Campus & Community


2 min read

Eduard Sekler awarded Austria’s Decoration for Science and Art


In a March 9 ceremony at the Vienna Hofburg, Austrian President Heinz Fischer awarded the Austrian Decoration for Science and Art to Professor of Architecture Emeritus Eduard Sekler, the Osgood Hooker Professor of Visual Art Emeritus. The decoration is the nation’s highest award given to scientists, scholars, and artists “who acquired general recognition and an outstanding name through exceptionally great creative achievements. …”

Three professors win mentoring awards

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) and the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) have announced the winners of the 2005 Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Awards, given to professors in recognition of their dedication to the academic and personal well-being of graduate students. This year’s awardees are Edward Glaeser, professor of economics; Stephen Soumerai, professor of ambulatory care and prevention; and John Stauffer, professor of English and American literature and language.

The three will be honored at an awards ceremony today (March 24) from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Faculty Club Reading Room. William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of English and American Literature and Language Marjorie Garber will deliver the keynote address, and GSAS Dean Peter Ellison and Zoe Trodd, president of the GSC, will also speak.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks