Campus & Community

Notice for Faculty Council meeting

1 min read

At its 12th meeting of the year (April 28) the Faculty Council discussed with Deans Benedict Gross, William Kirby, and Jeffrey Wolcowitz the recently released “Report on the Harvard College Curricular Review.” Professors Goran Ekstrom (Earth and Planetary Science), Eric Jacobsen (Chemistry and Chemical Biology), Richard Losick (Molecular and Cellular Biology), and Diana Sorensen (Romance Languages and Literatures), Co-chairs of the review’s four Working Groups, were also present for this discussion. A discussion of the review has also been scheduled for the May 4 Faculty Meeting, with the possibility that this consideration will be continued at the May 18 Faculty Meeting.

The council also met with members of the Faculty’s Standing Committee on Women to discuss the work of that committee. Present for this conversation were members of the committee: Professors Marjorie Garber, chair (English), Lynn Festa (English), Susan Pharr (Government), and Lisa Randall (Physics).

In addition, the council endorsed certain changes in the undergraduate Handbook for Students for the 2004-05 edition, as well as Courses of Instruction and Extension courses for the coming academic year.

The council next meets on May 12.