Campus & Community


2 min read

Goroff named FDD Fellow

Professor of the Practice of Mathematics Daniel Goroff has been accepted as a 2004-05 Academic Fellow with the Foundation for the Defense of Democracies (FDD) in Washington, D.C. As a fellow, Goroff, who is also the associate director of the Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning, will participate in an intensive educational program May 29-June 8 in Israel. Featuring lectures by academics, diplomats, and military officials, the program will focus on the threat of terrorism to democracy.

Patricia Donahoe receives ASA award

Marshall K. Bartlett Professor of Surgery Patricia Donahoe received the Flance-Karl Award from the American Society of Andrology (ASA) at its meeting earlier this month. The award, presented to a surgeon in the United States who has made a seminal contribution in basic laboratory research that has applications to clinical surgery, was established in 1996 by then-president of the association Samuel A. Wells Jr.

Guggenheim selects seven faculty, affiliates

Seven Harvard-affiliated artists, scholars, and scientists have been named among this year’s field of U.S. and Canadian Guggenheim Fellowship award winners. One hundred and eighty-five fellows were appointed this year on the basis of distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishments.

Harvard’s winners, including their area of study or pursuit, are as follows: Lucian Bebchuk, William J. Friedman and Alicia Townsend Friedman Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance, the allocation of power between management and shareholders; Michael P. Brenner, Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Mathematics and Applied Physics, mathematical models in developmental biology; Robert Fenz, employee at Harvard Film Studies Center, filmmaking; Stephen M. Kosslyn, John Lindsley Professor of Psychology, mental imagery and the brain; Robert A. LeVine, Roy E. Larsen Professor Emeritus of Education and Human Development, the anthropology of parenting; Curtis T. McMullen, Maria Moors Cabot Professor of Natural Sciences, dynamics over moduli space; and Timothy A. Springer, Latham Family Professor of Pathology, X-ray crystallography of integrins and their cytoplasmic activators.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks