Campus & Community

HAA’s 2002 Overseer candidates:

4 min read

Board of Directors candidates also listed below

Appearing below are the Harvard Alumni Association’s (HAA) candidates for the 2002 election to the Harvard Board of Overseers and the HAA Board of Directors. The election this spring will determine five new Overseers and six new HAA Elected Directors. Ballots will be mailed by April 15 and results of the election will be announced on Commencement Day, June 6.

The nominations reflect the deliberations of the HAA Nominating Committee, a broadly representative group of Harvard graduates whose 13 voting members include three present or former Overseers as well as 10 other alumni/ae chosen by the HAA Executive Committee.

Candidates for election may also be nominated by petition. Prospective petition candidates have until Feb. 11 to gather and submit the requisite number of signatures (259 for Overseer this year) from eligible degree-holders. Signatures must appear on official nomination forms obtained from and returned to the Secretary of the Board of Overseers, 17 Quincy St.

For Elected Director, 255 valid signatures must be filed at Wadsworth House, the office of the HAA. A list of all the candidates, along with the HAA Nominating Committee’s annual report, will be published in the Gazette after Feb. 11.

2002 Candidates for Overseer and HAA Elected Director

For Overseer

Rozlyn L. Anderson ’77 magna cum laude, J.D. ’80. Senior Vice President, Merrill Lynch Trust Co. and Director of Wealth Management Strategies, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management Services. Princeton, N.J.

Frances D. Fergusson, Ph.D. ’73, M.A. ’66; B.A. ’65 with Special Honors, Wellesley College. President, Vassar College. Poughkeepsie, N.Y.

William F. Lee ’72 magna cum laude; J.D. ’76 magna cum laude Cornell Law School; M.B.A. ’76 with distinction, Cornell University. Attorney; Managing Partner, Hale and Dorr LLP. Boston.

Richard I. Melvoin ’73 magna cum laude; M.A. ’78 University of Michigan, Ph.D. ’83 University of Michigan. Head of School, Belmont Hill School, Belmont.

Penny Pritzker ’81 magna cum laude; J.D./M.B.A. ’85 Stanford Law School and Stanford Business School. President and CEO, Pritzker Realty Group; Chair and CEO, Classic Residence by Hyatt. Chicago.

Jaime Sepulveda, M.P.H. ’80, M.P.T. ’81, S.D. ’85; M.D. ’78 National Autonomous University of Mexico. Director General, National Institute of Public Health; Dean of the School of Public Health. Mexico City, Mexico.

Thomas C. Werner ’71 cum laude. Co-owner, Carsey Werner Mandabach Co.; Founding Partner, Oxygen Media. Los Angeles.

Richard N. Zare ’61 magna cum laude, Ph.D. ’64. Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University; Chairman, Committee on National Medal of Science. Stanford, Calif.

For Elected Director

Peter A. Carfagna ’75 summa cum laude, J.D. ’79 magna cum laude; Rhodes Scholar ’77, Oxford University. Chief Legal Officer/General Counsel/Senior Staff Vice President, IMG Worldwide, Inc. Cleveland.

Walter K. Clair ’77 cum laude, M.D. ’81, M.P.H. ’85. Cardiac Electrophysiologist; Medical Staff, Department of Cardiac Services, St. Thomas Hospital. Nashville, Tenn.

Angela K. Dorn ’87 cum laude, J.D. ’90. Managing Director and General Counsel, Fletcher Assets Management, Inc. New York, N.Y.

Melita M. Garza ’81. Journalist, The Chicago Tribune. Chicago.

John F. Irving ’83 cum laude, M.B.A. ’89. Vice President, J.D. Irving, Ltd. St. John, New Brunswick.

Joan Z. Lonergan, Ed.M. ’84; S.B. University of New Hampshire ’74 summa cum laude. Head of School, Castilleja School. Palo Alto, Calif.

Andres W. Lopez ’92 cum laude, J.D. ’95. Attorney; Senior Law Clerk to U.S. District Judge Jay A. Garcia-Gregory. San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Eleanor Greenberg White ’67 cum laude, Loeb Fellow ’79 Graduate School of Design; M.P.A. ’75 Northeastern University. President, Housing Partners, Inc. Watertown.

Stephen R. Wong ’81 cum laude, M.B.A. ’85. Chairman and CEO, Embarcadero Technologies, Inc. San Francisco.