Campus & Community

Six recognized for alumni activities

3 min read

Award recognizes outstanding volunteer service

The Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) Awards were established in 1990 to recognize alumni who provide outstanding volunteer service to Harvard through alumni activities. This year’s recipients, listed below, will be honored on Thursday, Oct. 25, during the opening dinner of the HAA Board of Directors.

Christopher T.
Christopher T. Bayley

Christopher T. Bayley ’60, J.D. ’66, of Seattle, served as overseer from 1988 to 1994. He is past chairman of the visiting committees to the Arnold Arboretum and the Design School, and was chair of the HAA Overseers and Directors Nominating Committee in 1997. A former HAA regional director, he was chief marshal for the class of 1960 at its 25th reunion, and has been an alumni interviewer since 1967.

Martin A.
Martin A. Heckscher

Martin A. Heckscher ’56, LL.B. ’59 has been president, vice president, and secretary of the HAA. Co-chair of the Harvard Campaign in the Philadelphia area from 1980 to 1984, he was an executive committee member of the Harvard College Fund for nine years. Former president of the Harvard Club of Philadelphia, he was an HAA Awards Committee member, and has been a regular member of his class reunion gift committees.

Glenn M.
Glenn M. Johnson

Glenn M. Johnson ’79, M.B.A. ’84 was president of the Harvard Club of Boston from 1995 to 1998, vice president from 1991 to 1995, and a board member from 1988 to 1998. An HAA elected director from 1995 to 1998, he chaired the HAA Clubs Committee and was Graduate Schools Committee member. He is currently a member of the visiting committee to the Department of Athletics.

Ellen McHugh
Ellen McHugh LaFollette

Ellen McHugh LaFollette ’54 is currently national co-chair of the effort to endow the Radcliffe Alumnae Professorship at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. A former Radcliffe trustee, she was president of the Radcliffe Club of San Francisco, an HAA director, and a member of the HAA Awards Committee. In 1994 she received the RCAA Distinguished Service Award.

Yuki Moore
Yuki Moore Laurenti

Yuki Moore Laurenti ’79 has been the chair of the Harvard Club of Princeton’s Schools Committee since 1988. An HAA elected director from 1994 to 1997, she chaired the HAA Undergraduate Relations Committee from 1996 to 1998, was chair of the Overseers/Directors Nominating Committee in 2000, and is a current member of the board of managers of the Harvard Club of New York City.

Joshua M.
Joshua M. Levin

Joshua M. Levin ’54, LL.B. ’59, an alumni interviewer for more than 40 years, is former chair of the Schools Committee of the Harvard Club of New Jersey. For the past 18 years he has arranged chamber music concerts with undergraduate musicians in the homes of local club members. He was a member of the HAA Committee on Harvard/Radcliffe Relations, past president of the Harvard Club of New Jersey, HAA regional director, and former trustee of the Harvard Law School Association of New Jersey.