Campus & Community


2 min read

Award given to KSG Dean Joseph S. Nye Jr.

Kennedy School Dean Joseph S. Nye Jr. received the “Eagle on the World” award from the Japanese Chamber of Congress and Industry of New York at its 16th annual dinner on Nov. 28. The award was given in recognition of Dean Nye’s years of dedication to U.S.-Asia relations – especially for his work with Japan. The Japanese Chamber of Congress and Industry is a private, nonprofit organization that brings together Japanese and American business executives from the tri-state area.

Tifft, Jones to receive Sperber Award

Journalist Susan E. Tifft and Alex S. Jones, director of the Kennedy School’s Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, will receive the Ann M. Sperber Biography Award for their book, “The Trust: The Private and Powerful Family Behind the New York Times.” The award will be given at a ceremony on Dec. 6, at the Fordham University Law School. The award is named after Ann M. Sperber, who wrote “Murrow: His Life and Times,” and is given annually in recognition of biographical works about journalists or media figures.

Streilein appointed to advisory council

J. Wayne Streilein, who has just been named the Charles L. Schepens Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School, was appointed to the National Advisory Eye Council of the National Institutes of Health on Dec. 1. He has been the president of The Schepens Eye Research Institute, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School, since 1995.

Streilein is internationally recognized for his work in immunology. He is a pioneer in identifying the mechanisms by which a unique form of immunity exists in the eye, and is a leader in the application of this discovery to eye research. Streilein will serve on the National Advisory Eye Council for a four-year term.

Compiled by Andrew Brooks