Campus & Community

Faculty Council Notice for Sept. 27

2 min read

At its second meeting of the year, the Faculty Council continued its discussion of the possibility of an expanded program of faculty-led limited-enrollment seminars for freshmen. Deans Susan Pedersen (Undergraduate Education) and Jeffrey Wolcowitz (Undergraduate Education) were present for this discussion.

Additionally, the council heard a report from Prof. Peter Marsden (Sociology), chair of the FAS Benefits Committee and chair of the University Benefits Committee’s sub-committee on health plans, on pending changes in one or more post-retirement health plans. The council also heard a report from Dean Nancy Maull (Administrative Dean) and Dean Geoffrey Peters (Administrative Resources) on the status of the report from the Ad Hoc Committee on Employment Policies, released in May of this year.

The professorial membership of the Committee on Graduate Education for 2000-01 is Peter Ellison (Anthropology), chair; Andrew Biewener (Organismic and Evolutionary Biology); John Campbell (Economics); Stephanie Jamison (Sanskrit and Indian Studies); Thomas Kelly (Music); and Werner Sollors (Afro-American Studies and English and American Literature and Language). The professorial membership of the Committee on Undergraduate Education is: Susan Pedersen (History), chair; Jay Harris (Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations); Stephen Kosslyn (Psychology); Michael Mitzenmacher (DEAS); J. Russell Muirhead (Government); and Stuart Shieber (DEAS. The Council next meets on Wednesday, Oct. 11.