Shorenstein Center announces winners and finalists for 2011 Goldsmith Prizes

1 min read

Three winners of the Goldsmith Book Prize and six finalists for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting have been announced by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. The winner of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, which carries a cash award of $25,000, will be announced at an awards ceremony on March 7 at the Kennedy School.

The Goldsmith Prizes are underwritten by an annual gift from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation. The book prizes were created to honor the best academic and trade books of the year on journalism, with a $5,000 award for each category. The Investigative Reporting Prize, which carries a $10,000 award for finalists, is intended to recognize and encourage journalism which promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics by disclosing excessive secrecy, impropriety and mismanagement, or instances of particularly commendable government performance.

“These finalists represent stunning journalism that is in the public’s most critical best interest,” said Alex S. Jones, director of the Shorenstein Center.

View the finalists for the investigative reporting prize; view the winners of the book prize.