Campus & Community

American Academy elects new members

2 min read

10 Harvard faculty members among the cohort

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 197 new members. They include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, and artists, and civic, business, and philanthropic leaders.

Those elected from Harvard are Marcia Angell, senior lecturer in social medicine, Harvard Medical School (HMS); Thomas B.F. Cummins, Dumbarton Oaks Professor of the History of Pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin American Arts; Peter T. Ellison, John Cowles Professor of Anthropology; Noah R. Feldman, Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law, Harvard Law School; Roland G. Fryer Jr., Henry Lee Professor of Economics; David D. Ginty, Edward R. and Anne G. Lefler Professor of Neurobiology, HMS, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator; Paul L. Harris, Victor S. Thomas Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education; James Kloppenberg, Charles Warren Professor of American History; Margaret S. Livingstone, Takeda Professor of Neurobiology, HMS; and Gerhard Wagner, Elkan Rogers Blout Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, HMS.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the American Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, global security and international affairs, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Read about the members.