Stephanie Mitchell/Harvard Staff Photographer

Arts & Culture

A.R.T. nabs six Elliot Norton Awards

2 min read

Diane Paulus wins Outstanding Director Award

The 2011 Elliot Norton Awards, presented on May 23 at the Paramount Theatre in Boston, honored the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) with six awards in the Large Theater category.

A.R.T. Artistic Director Diane Paulus received the Outstanding Director Award for her productions of “Johnny Baseball,” “Prometheus Bound,” and “HAIR,” which also received the award for Best Visiting Production.

Thomas Derrah received the Outstanding Actor Award for his performance in the one-man show “R. Buckminster Fuller: The History (and Mystery) of the Universe,” which ran in January and February at the Loeb Drama Center.

Uzo Aduba received the award for Outstanding Musical Performance for her role of Io in “Prometheus Bound.” “The Blue Flower” garnered the award for Outstanding Musical Production, as well as Outstanding Design — honoring Jim Bauer and Ruth Bauer, creators and videography; Marsha Ginsberg for set design; Carol Bailey for costume design; Justin Townsend for lighting design; and Clive Goodwin for sound design.

The Elliot Norton Awards were established in 1982 to recognize distinguished contributions to Boston-area theater during each season. The awards were founded in honor of distinguished critic Elliot Norton upon his retirement, following his 48 years as a drama critic for Boston newspapers and moderator of “Elliot Norton Reviews” on WGBH-TV.  The selection committee comprises local critics Don Aucoin, Jared Bowen, Terry Byrne, Carolyn Clay, Iris Fanger, Joyce Kulhawik, Sandy MacDonald, Robert Nesti, Jenna Scherer, Ed Siegel, and Caldwell Titcomb.