Campus & Community

Lefkopoulou Lecture nominations sought

2 min read

The annual Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecture was initiated in 1993 in memory of Myrto Lefkopoulou, a former faculty member and student in the Department of Biostatistics. Lefkopoulou tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle.

Each year, the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lectureship is awarded to a promising biostatistical scientist who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to an individual within 15 years of receiving an earned doctorate. In the case of nominees without an earned doctorate, the committee will make a relative adjustment of time in keeping with the spirit of the selection process. The lecture is targeted at a general scientific audience and is the first department colloquium of each academic year. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1,000.

Previous lecturers include Mark van der Laan, Geerts Molenberghs, Marie Davidian, Danyu Lin, Bradley Carlin, Steven Goodman, Giovanni Parmigiani, Kathryn Roeder, Ronald Brookmeyer, Trevor Hastie, Hans-Georg Mueller, Michael Boehnke, and Louise Ryan.

Nominations for this year’s lectureship are currently being solicited and should be sent to the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lecture Committee, Department of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health, 655 Huntington Ave., Boston, MA 02115. Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a C.V. The deadline for submissions is March 31, 2006.