Campus & Community

Overseer, HAA Elected Director candidates

3 min read

Appearing below are the Harvard Alumni Association’s (HAA) candidates for the 2005 election to the Harvard Board of Overseers and the HAA Elected Directors. The election this spring will determine five new Overseers and six new HAA Elected Directors.

Ballots for Overseer and Elected Director of the Harvard Alumni Association will arrive by April 15 and must be received by noon on June 3 to be counted. All holders of Harvard degrees (including honorary), except for Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer; the election for HAA Directors is open to all Harvard degree holders. Results of the election will be announced on Commencement, June 9, at the Annual Meeting of the Harvard Alumni Association.

The HAA nominating committee proposes candidates for election as Overseers and Directors each year. The committee is a broadly representative group of Harvard graduates whose 13 voting members include three present or former Overseers as well as 10 other alumni chosen by the HAA Executive Committee. Candidates for Overseer or HAA Elected Director may also be nominated by petition, that is, by obtaining a prescribed number of signatures from eligible degree holders.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates in 2005:

For Overseer

Mitchell L. Adams, A.B. ’66, M.B.A. ’69, executive director, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative, Dedham, Mass.

Enrique Hernandez Jr., A.B. ’77, J.D. ’80, chairman, president, and CEO, Inter-Con Security Systems Inc., Pasadena, Calif.

Gerald R. Jordan Jr., A.B. ’61, M.B.A. ’67, investment adviser, president, Hellman, Jordan Management Co. Inc., Boston, Mass.

Anne Dhu McLucas, A.M. ’68, Ph.D. ’75, professor of music, chair of music history and ethnomusicology, University of Oregon, Eugene, Ore.

Peter R. MacLeish, Ph.D. ’77, professor and chairman, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology; director, Neuroscience Institute, Morehouse School of Medicine, Atlanta.

Lisbet Rausing, A.M. ’86, Ph.D. ’93, senior research fellow, Imperial College, London.

Susan S. Wallach A.B. ’68, J.D. ’71, special counsel, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP, New York, N.Y.

Seth P. Waxman A.B. ’73, partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, Washington, D.C.

For Elected Director

Rocky Delgadillo, A.B. ’82, city attorney, Los Angeles.

Jennifer Flinton Diener, A.B. ’67, M.B.A. ’72, community volunteer, former senior vice president and member of the executive committee, American Medical International, Santa Monica, Calif.

Katharine Appleton Downes, A.B. ’89, assistant professor of pathology, Case Western Reserve; attending physician, University Hospitals of Cleveland.

Charis Menschel Drant, A.B. ’97, associate at Piper Rudnick LLP, Washington, D.C.

Christopher Gabrieli, A.B. ’81, chairman, Massachusetts 2020, Boston.

Keith A. James, A.B. ’79, J.D. ’82, shareholder, Shutts & Bowen LLP, West Palm Beach, Fla.

Sarah Elizabeth Lewis, A.B. ’01, curatorial assistant, Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Janet A. Moy, A.B. ’75, dermatologist, assistant clinical professor, New York University School of Medicine, New York.

Brooks Newmark, A.B. ’80, M.B.A. ’84, senior partner, Apollo Management LP, London.