Campus & Community

Candidates for Overseer and HAA Elected Director

3 min read

Appearing below are the Harvard Alumni Association’s (HAA) candidates for the 2004 elections to the Harvard Board of Overseers and the HAA Board of Directors. The election this spring will determine five new Overseers and six new HAA Elected Directors. Ballots for Overseer and Elected Director of the Harvard Alumni Association will be mailed by April 15 and must be returned by noon on June 4 to be counted. All holders of Harvard degrees (including honorary), except for Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer; the election for HAA Directors is open to all Harvard degree holders. Results of the election will be announced on Commencement, June 10, at the Annual Meeting of the Harvard Alumni Association.

The HAA nominating committee proposes candidates for election as Overseers and Directors each year. The committee is a broadly representative group of Harvard graduates whose 13 voting members include three present or former Overseers as well as 10 other alumni chosen by the HAA Executive Committee. Candidates for Overseer or HAA Elected Director may also be nominated by petition, that is, by obtaining a prescribed number of signatures from eligible degree holders. *

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates in 2004:


Scott Abell A.B. ’72, chairman emeritus, Abell and Associates, Inc., Akron, Ohio

Alan Bersin A.B. ’68, superintendent of public education, San Diego City Schools, San Diego

Helen Blau A.M. ’70, Ph.D. ’75, professor and chair, Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, Calif.

Ann Fudge MBA ’77, chairwoman and chief executive officer, Young and Rubicam, Inc., New York

Merrick Garland A.B. ’74, J.D. ’77, United States circuit judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Washington, D.C.

Emily Mann A.B. ’74, artistic director, McCarter Theater, Princeton, N.J.

Thomas Stephenson A.B. ’64, MBA ’66, general partner, Sequoia Capital, Menlo Park, Calif.

Phyllis Yale A.B. ’78, MBA ’82, managing director, Bain & Co., Inc., Boston


William H. Adler III A.B. ’61, president, Wiltshire Associates, Ltd., Severna Park, Md.

Ketanji Brown-Jackson A.B. ’92, J.D. ’96, attorney, the Feinberg Group, LLP, Washington, D.C.

Robert E. Joyce A.B. ’87, Global Markets and Investment Banking, Merrill Lynch & Co., Boston

Scott D. Malkin A.B. ’80, J.D./MBA ’83, chairman, Value Retail, PLC, London

Sanjay Patel A.B. ’83, S.M. ’83, co-president, GSC Partners, New York

Deborah Ramirez J.D. ’81, professor, Northeastern University School of Law, Boston

Denise Thal A.B. ’77, vice president and chief financial officer, Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village, Dearborn, Mich.

Cynthia Torres A.B. ’80, MBA ’84, director of marketing, Diamond Portfolio Advisors LLC, Santa Monica, Calif.

*This year, prospective petition candidates have until Feb. 13 to submit such signatures to the Office of the Governing Board. Overseer petition candidates are required to have 245 signatures; Elected Director petition candidates are required to have 243 signatures.