Campus & Community

Music fellowships, awards announced

5 min read

The Department of Music has announced that $120,000 went toward fellowship and award programs for the department’s graduate and undergraduate students.

The recipients of this year’s Oscar S. Schafer Award, given by the department to graduate students who have “demonstrated unusual ability and enthusiasm in their teaching of introductory courses,” are Richard Whalley and Jen-yen Chen.

The John Knowles Paine Traveling Fellowship is given to students who have demonstrated “distinguished talent and originality in musical composition and high musical scholarship.” The graduate recipients for the traveling fellowship are as follows:

David Black, for research at the Bach-Archiv Leipzig, and to study sources of cantatas by Thomaskantor Johann Kuhnau.

Brigid Cohen, to attend a two-month course in French at the Alliance Française in Paris.

Jeannie Guerrero, to conduct dissertation research at the Archivio Luigi Nono, and to attend a residential seminar at Dozza in Bologna, Italy.

Aaron Girard, for research-related travel expenses needed to conduct interviews with music theorists in America.

Mary Greitzer, to take an intensive language course at the Goethe Institute in Berlin.

Robert Hasegawa, to participate in a course taught by Allen Forte on Schoenberg’s atonal compositions at the Schoenberg House in Austria.

Christopher Honett, for Italian language study in Italy.

Arni Ingolfsson, to support dissertation work in Iceland and research in the National Library in Prague. He also received a GSAS Packard Fellowship.

Roe-Min Kok, for research at the Robert Schumann Research Center in Dusseldorf and the Robert Schumann House Archive in Zaickau, and to present a paper at the 17th International Congress of the International Musicological Society in Belgium.

Jonathan Kregor, for language study in France and research in German libraries, and archives in Weimar and Vienna.

Lei Liang, to study musical sources for huqin in Beijing and Shanghai. Liang also received a Harvard Summer School Tuition Waiver.

Sarah Morelli, for field research on North Indian classical music and dance at Ali Akbar College of Music and Shhandam School of Kathak Dance in San Francisco.

Matthew Peattie, to attend the Stage international de chant gregorien in France and to study fragments of 11th century breviary in the library at Montecassino.

Julia Randel, for research at the New York Public Library Dance Collection, and to attend a conference of the Society of Dance History Scholars in Philadelphia. She also received a GSAS Graduate Study Term-Time Research Fellowship.

Eliyahu Shoot, to attend the Avantgarde Schwaz 2002 International Academy for New Music in Austria.

Erik Spangler, to attend the Banff Music Festival in Canada and to continue his dissertation composition work.

Noriko Toda, for predissertation fieldwork in Kazakhstan. Toda also received a GSAS Summer Fellowship.

Ken Ueno, to attend the Centre Acanthes music festival in France and to work with the Arditti String Quartet (and composers Brian Ferneyhough, Ivan Fedele, and Betsy Jolas). Ueno also received a GSAS Graduate Society Term-Time Research Fellowship.

Richard Whalley, to attend the Wellesley Composer’s Conference as a composing fellow and complete a new piece to be performed during the conference.

Jonathan Wild, to attend the Schoenberg Institute in Vienna, Austria, and to support his tenure as composer-in-residence for the Hilliard Ensemble’s summer program in Koblenz. Wild is also a GSAS Whiting Fellowship recipient.

Du Yun, to travel to Chicago to hear the ICE ensemble feature her music, to participate as a composer in the Centre Acanthes music festival in France, and to attend a French language course in Paris.

Nino and Lea Pirrotta Research Fund Grants were awarded to Aaron Allen and Michael Cuthbert. Allen will research materials in archives and libraries in Italy, and Cuthbert will travel to four archives and libraries in Northern Italy.

Middlebrook Fellowship were awarded to April James and Thomas Peattie. James will participate in baroque dance workshops and present a paper at the Society of Dance History Scholars Conference in Philadelphia, and Peattie will complete dissertation research at the Austrian National Library in Vienna and the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York City.

Zoe Lang received a Harry and Marjorie Anne Slim Memorial Scholarship Fund Fellowship to support dissertation research on Johann Strauss Jr., Mahler, and Schoenberg in Vienna; and to investigate ballet performances of Ravel’s waltz pieces in Paris.

University Composition Prizes were given to Julie Rohwein, Christopher Honett, Christopher Trapani ’02, Anthony Cheung ’03, Du Yun, Jonathan Wild, Robert Hasegawa and Nicholas Vines.

Rohwein received the John Green Fellowship for her work. This award was established by friends and family of the late John Green ’28 in support of excellence in musical composition and is given annually and alternately to an undergraduate and graduate student composer.

Honett and Trapani were awarded the George Arthur Knight Prize for “Three Deaths in a Cambridge Museum” and “History by Moonlight,” respectively.

Cheung received the Hugh F. MacColl Prize for his composition “No Unnecessary Noise.”

Du Yun received the Adelbert Sprague Prize for her work, “Ennui.”

Wild received the Francis Boott Prize for “Wreath of Stone.”

Hasegawa and Vines, both Ph.D. candidates in composition, received a Bohemians Prize for “Due Corde” and “Terminus in Time,” respectively.

John Knowles Paine Traveling Fellowships for Undergraduates were given to John A. Bachman, to study North Indian classical drumming in Nepal; Sarah Darling, to study viola and baroque violin performance with Nobuko Imai at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam; and Christopher Trapani, to support his postgraduate composition studies in Europe.