Campus & Community


2 min read

May receives top AHA Award

Ernest Richard May, Charles Warren Professor of American History, has received the American Historical Association’s (AHA’s) Award for Scholarly Distinction, it was announced at the AHA’s 116th annual meeting last month in San Francisco. The award goes to senior historians of the highest distinction who have spent the bulk of their professional careers in the United States. From his innovative, multi-archival study, “The World War and American Isolation, 1914-1917” (Harvard University Press, 1959), to the recently published “Strange Victory: Hitler’s Conquest of France” (Hill and Wang, 2000), May has been at the forefront in the study of international history.

Sellke to serve on NIH panel

Frank W. Sellke, M.D., chief of cardiothoracic surgery at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and the Johnson and Johnson Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School, has been named a member of the Surgery, Anesthesiology and Trauma Study Section, Center for Scientific Review, at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Watkins, Rosegrant win award

Michael Watkins, associate professor of business administration, and Susan Rosegrant, a case writer at the Kennedy School of Government, have won a best book prize from the Center for Public Resources (CPR) Institute for Dispute Resolution for their work “Breakthrough International Negotiation: How Great Negotiators Transformed the World’s Toughest Post-Cold War Conflicts” (Jossey-Bass, 2001). The book examines diplomatic negotiations in the Middle East, the Persian Gulf, Korea, and Bosnia. The CPR Institute is an alliance of 500 global corporations and law firms at the forefront of resolving business and public disputes through mediation and other forms of dispute resolution.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks