Campus & Community


2 min read

Bestor joins Anthropology Dept.

Theodore C. Bestor, a specialist in contemporary Japanese society and culture, has been appointed professor in the Department of Anthropology. Bestor, who has written extensively on Tokyo’s markets, food, and popular culture, will also be affiliated with Harvard’s Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies. He previously taught at Cornell University.

Herzlinger wins CIMA award

“The Outsiders,” an article by Regina E. Herzlinger, the Nancy R. McPherson Professor of Business Administration, has won the Articles of Merit Competition of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA). Published in the June 2000 issue of Management Accounting, the article presents a comprehensive framework for overseeing the accountability of nonprofit and government organizations.

Steiper gets Lindbergh grant

The Charles A. and Anne Morrow Lindbergh Foundation has awarded teaching fellow Michael Steiper a 2001 Lindbergh Grant for his project, “Determining if the Genetic Make-up of Orangutans in Borneo is Evolving to Combat Malaria.” Steiper’s research aims to understand how human malaria is similar to and different from the malaria of orangutans in order to assist human malaria research programs. Steiper received one of 10 Lindbergh grants awarded this year, and was chosen from more than 150 applicants from around the world.

Tu wins T’oegye award

Tu Wei-Ming, professor of Chinese history and philosophy, has been awarded the Ninth International T’oegye Studies Award. The award is named for Yi T’oegye (1501–1570), a Korean Confucian scholar during the Chosun period. Tu, the director of the Harvard-Yenching Institute, has greatly advanced the understanding and appreciation of T’oegye among scholars outside of Korea.

Tu will address the T’oegye Studies Institute in Seoul, Korea, at an awards ceremony on Oct. 14. The award carries a prize of $10,000.

Honorary Degrees committee considers 2003 nominees

The Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees will meet during the fall and spring to consider nominees for honorary degrees to be awarded in 2003. Members of the Harvard community are invited to submit names of likely honorary degree candidates.

Nominations may be sent to Conrad K. Harper, fellow of the Harvard Corporation and chair of the advisory committee, or Marc Goodhart, secretary to the corporation, at Loeb House, 17 Quincy St., Cambridge, MA 02138.

New nominations received will be considered for degrees to be awarded in June 2003 and afterward. Nominations should be submitted by Oct. 31. Biographical material and comments in support of recommendations should accompany submissions.