Campus & Community

Academy of Management honors several HBS faculty

2 min read

The Academy of Management recently honored several Harvard Business School (HBS) faculty members at its annual meeting last month in Washington, D.C.

Christopher A. Bartlett, Daewoo Professor of Business Administration, was a co-recipient of the Distinguished Scholar Award from the academy’s advances in international management division. Bartlett is the author or co-author of eight books, including “Managing across Borders: The Transnational Solution,” written with co-winner Sumantra Ghoshal of the London Business School.

Rosabeth M. Kanter, Ernest L. Arbuckle Professor of Business Administration, received the Academy’s Distinguished Career Scholarly Contributions Award in recognition of a broad and innovative research agenda that has not only advanced management knowledge and practice but in some cases led to whole new areas of study. Kanter has written or co-written 15 books, most recently “Evolve!: Succeeding in the Digital Culture of Tomorrow.”

Co-authors David A. Thomas, Naylor Fitzhugh Professor of Business Administration, and John J. Gabarro, The UPS Foundation Professor of Human Resource Management, received the George R. Terry Book Award for “Breaking Through: The Making of Minority Executives in Corporate America.” The award, given once every three years, honors the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the advancement of management knowledge each year.

– Andrew Brooks