Campus & Community


2 min read

Caine honored for drug abuse research

McLean Hospital researcher S. Barak Caine has been awarded the Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award by the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. Caine is the director of the Neuroscience Program in the Behavioral Science Laboratory in McLean Hospital’s Alcohol and Drug Abuse Research Center (ADARC), and received the award for achievements in drug abuse research. The award was presented to Caine in June, at the college’s annual scientific meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Glass named president-elect of BPSI
Leonard Glass, director of the Attending Psychiatrists and Psychologists Program at McLean Hospital, has been named president-elect of the Boston Psychoanalytic Society and Institute (BPSI). Glass, who is also an assistant clinical professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, will serve as president-elect for two years before beginning his term as president in 2003.

Harris joins GSE faculty
Early childhood development expert Paul Harris, author of “Children and Emotion: The Development of Psychological Understanding,” joined the faculty of the Graduate School of Education (GSE) as a full professor on July 1. “Paul Harris’ arrival is an exciting moment for HGSE,” said Jerome T. Murphy, Dean and Harold Howe II Professor of Education. “His ongoing research on understanding and development in young children will help the School continue to build strengths in early childhood education.”

Northeastern awards Kanter honorary degree
Rosabeth Moss Kanter, the Ernest L. Arbuckle Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School, earned an honorary doctor of business administration degree at Northeastern University’s 103rd commencement this past June 16. An award-winning author, Kanter has written or co-written 15 books, including such bestsellers as “The Change Masters,” “When Giants Learn to Dance,” “World Class: Thriving Locally in the Global Economy,” and “Rosabeth Moss Kanter on the Frontiers of Management.” Her latest book is “Evolve! Succeeding in the Digital Culture of Tomorrow.”

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks