Campus & Community


2 min read

Botterill named Ivy player of the year

Harvard University women’s hockey forward Jennifer Botterill ’02, was unanimously named the Ivy League Women’s Hockey Player of the Year. Botterill finished the regular season with 38 goals and 30 assists. Last year, she shared the award with Brown University’s Ali Brewer.

NARSAD awards grants to 16 Harvard researchers

The National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD) has awarded Young Investigator grants totaling $960,000 to 16 researchers affiliated with Harvard University. This is the largest number of NARSAD grants awarded to any institution this year.

The following scientists will each receive a $60,000 grant for their research on schizophrenia: Ileana Berman, M.D.; Sabina Berretta, M.D.; Juan Burrone, Ph.D.; David Henderson, M.D.; Marek Kubicki, M.D., Ph.D.; Gina Kuperberg, M.D.; Adam Savitz, M.D.; David Stone, Ph.D.; and Anthony Weiss, M.D.

The following scientists will each receive a $60,000 grant for their research on depression: Dan Iosifescu, M.D.; William Ottowitz, M.D.; Roy Perlis, M.D.; Timothy Peterson, Ph.D.; Claudio Soares, M.D., Ph.D.; and Meng-Yang Zhu, M.D., Ph.D. Thilo Dekersbach, Ph.D., will also receive the grant for his research on bipolar disorder.

Lorenzi is director of Center for Diabetic Retinopathy

The Schepens Eye Research Institute has received a four-year, $3 million grant from the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International (JDRFI) to support what will be the first Center for Diabetic Retinopathy funded by the foundation. Mara Lorenzi, senior scientist at the Schepens and associate professor of ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School, is the director and principal investigator of the new center.

– Compiled by Andrew Brooks