Campus & Community

Law School adds six to faculty

2 min read

The Law School has appointed six persons to the faculty, the largest addition of new faculty members during Robert C. Clark’s deanship, which began in 1989. Two received lateral appointments to professorships; the other four are new appointments to assistant professorships. The appointments will take effect on July 1, 2000, and will increase the size of the permanent faculty to 80.

“These six additions to the faculty will allow the Law School to expand the curriculum to cover important areas of the law, improve the student-faculty ratio, further diversify the faculty, and strengthen the faculty in the wake of the untimely deaths this spring of three beloved professors,” Clark said.

The new faculty are as follows:

Cyberlaw specialist Jonathan Zittrain, co-founder and executive director of the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard Law School, has been appointed assistant professor. Voting rights law specialist Heather Gerken, an associate at Jenner & Block in Washington, D.C., has been named assistant professor. Legal historian Kenneth Mack, a specialist in the history of African-American civil rights lawyers, has been named assistant professor. He is a Ph.D. candidate in history at Princeton University. Disability law specialist Samuel Bagenstos, who has worked as an attorney in the Appellate Section of the Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, has been named assistant professor.

Previously announced appointments are as follows:

Family law specialist Janet Halley of Stanford Law School and criminal law specialist William Stuntz of the University of Virginia School of Law.