Campus & Community


3 min read

Two from Harvard named Carnegie Scholars

Two Harvard professors were among 12 leading researchers in American universities who have been named Carnegie Scholars by the Carnegie Corporation. Caroline Hoxby, Morris Kahn Associate Professor of Economics, and Michael Sandel, professor of government, were selected for their innovative scholarship and policy-focused research in areas of interest to the Corporation. Each of the scholars, chosen in a highly competitive process, will receive up to $100,000 over the next two years to pursue research education, international development, democracy, and international peace and security.

American Psychological Society to honor Kelman

Herbert C. Kelman, the Richard Clarke Cabot Research Professor of Social Ethics, will receive the James McKeen Cattell Award from the American Psychological Society during its annual convention in Florida in June. The award, one of the highest honors conferred by the Society, “recognizes a career of significant intellectual contributions to the science of psychology.”

Greenblatt book tops survey

The book, Renaissance Self-Fashioning, by Stephen Greenblatt, the Harry Levin Professor of Literature, took the top spot in a recent survey of “Outstanding Twentieth-Century Books in English Renaissance Scholarship,” conducted by The Ben Jonson Journal. In second place was The Allegory of Love, by C.S. Lewis.

Koerner wins IALD scholarship

Brad Koerner a master’s degree candidate at the Graduate School of Design, has received a $1,000 scholarship from the International Association of Lighting Designers Education Trust Fund (IALD). Koerner was one of six architectural lighting design students to receive scholarships at the IALD’s annual Lighting Design Awards on Wednesday, May 10.

Drislane receives award for excellence in teaching

Francis W. Drislane, assistant professor of neurology, received the S. Robert Stone Award for Excellence in Teaching on Wednesday, May 24, at the Harvard Medical School faculty meeting. This award is given to one physician from the Beth Israel Hospital each year to recognize his/her efforts in teaching. The award was established in 1980. Drislane is the second neurologist from Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital to receive it.

Willie receives honorary degree from Haverford

Charles V. Willie, the Charles William Eliot Professor of Education Emeritus at the Graduate School of Education, received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree for his commitment to a new approach on school segregation from Haverford College on Sunday, May 14. In June, Willie will receive the Arents Award from his alma mater, Syracuse University.

Maldacena wins Sackler Prize in Physical Sciences

Juan Maldacena, professor of physics, has won the Sackler Prize in Physical Sciences, awarded for the first time by Israel’s leading research institution, Tel Aviv University. Maldacena shares the $36,000 prize with Michael Douglas, a professor of physics at Rutgers University. The physicists were recognized for the crucial contributions they have made to the field of theoretical high-energy physics and specifically for their work on superstring theory, a proposed unified theory for describing the fundamental nature of our universe.

HLS student honored by Massachusetts Black Judges Conference

Second-year Harvard Law School student Eboni S. Cohen was one of nine Massachusetts law students honored for academic excellence and outstanding achievement at the annual book awards ceremony of the Massachusetts Black Judges Conference on Thursday, May 18. Cohen received a stipend of $250 towards the cost of law books.