Harvard Varsity Club inducts 54th Hall of Fame Class

The Harvard Varsity Club Hall of Fame Class of 2020. Photos by Gil Talbot (top) and Dylan Goodman ’25 (bottom)

2 min read

Following a pandemic-induced two-year delay, the Harvard Varsity Club (HVC) was finally able to honor the Hall of Fame Class of 2020 last month, in celebrations attended by more than 250 guests. Eight varsity athletes and four national championship heavyweight crew boats joined the over 600 Harvard student-athletes already enshrined.

Normally an annual October event emceed by a current Hall of Famer, this year’s long-awaited ceremony was celebrated twice. On Oct. 15, lacrosse alumna Kate Felsen DiPietro ’88, HVC Hall of Fame Class of 2011, hosted a celebration at the Harvard Club of Boston to honor the eight athletes. Inductees included Jonathan Chu ’05 (tennis), M. Nicole Correiro ’05 (ice hockey), Reka Cserny ‘05 (basketball), Dov Grumet-Morris ’05 (ice hockey), Schuyler Oda Mann ’05 (baseball), Shelley Maasdorp ’05 (field hockey), Kaego Ogbechie Rust ’05 (volleyball), and Noah Welch ’05 (ice hockey).

On Oct. 22, a ceremony inducting the four crew boats was held in the Lee Family Hall of History on Harvard’s Athletics campus, to coincide with the 2022 Head of the Charles Regatta. Eight-member varsity crews of the 2003 Radcliffe Heavyweight and 2003, 2004, and 2005 Harvard Heavywight boats were honored in an event hosted by crew alumnus Travis Metz ’91, HVC Hall of Fame Class of 2006.

To be eligible for the HVC Hall of Fame, an athlete must have graduated from the College at least 15 years prior and “achieved greatness for multiple years while competing for the Crimson.”