Center for Jewish Studies announces Weinstein Prize recipients

Pen and paper.

Aaron Burden/Unsplash

1 min read

The Center for Jewish Studies at Harvard University announced this week the recipients of the 2020 Selma and Lewis Weinstein Prize in Jewish Studies.

Sonia Epstein ’21 of Eliot House and Joshua Moriarty ’21 of Pforzheimer House tied for first place. Epstein’s entry was “The ‘Nitzanim’ of 1948: Recentering Morocco in Moroccan-Jewish Education.” Moriarty’s entry was “Conflicting Imperatives: ‘Religious Praxis’ and Secular Ethics in Yeshayahu Thought.”

Daniel Rosenblatt ’20 of Pforzheimer House won second place for his essay, “Eden in the Garden State: Luxury and Liberation in the Jersey Homesteads Planned Community, 1936-1939.” Tamara Shamir ’21 of Leverett House also tied for second place for her essay, “Inventing Tradition: Marital Freedom and Halachic Solutions in Israel’s Religious Courts.”

The Weinstein Prize, which is given to the Harvard University student(s) who submits the best undergraduate essay in Jewish studies, was established by Lewis H. Weinstein ’27, LL.B. ’30.

For more information, please visit the center’s website.