Campus & Community

Finalists named for Goldsmith Prize

2 min read

Journalism award winner to be announced March 6

Six finalists for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting have been announced by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School(HKS). The winner of the prize, which carries a cash award of $25,000, will be announced at an awards ceremony on March 6 at HKS.

The Goldsmith Prizes are underwritten by an annual gift from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation. The prizes recognize and encourage journalism that promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics by disclosing excessive secrecy, impropriety and mismanagement, or instances of particularly commendable government performance.

The six finalists for the 2012 Goldsmith Prize:

Brian Ross, Anna Schecter, and the ABC News Investigative Team
ABC News 20/20
“Peace Corps: A Trust Betrayed”

Matt Apuzzo, Adam Goldman, Eileen Sullivan, and Chris Hawley
Associated Press
“NYPD Intelligence Division”

Jim Morris, Ronnie Greene, Chris Hamby, and Keith Epstein, Center for Public Integrity; and Elizabeth Shogren, Howard Berkes, Sandra Bartlett, and Susanne Reber
National Public Radio
“Poisoned Places: Toxic Air, Neglected Communities”

Mark Greenblatt, David Raziq, and Keith Tomshe
KHOU-TV (CBS Houston)
“A Matter of Risk: Radiation, Drinking Water, and Deception”

Danny Hakim and Russell Buettner
The New York Times
“Abused and Used”

Dafna Linzer and Jennifer LaFleur
ProPublica (co-published with The Washington Post)
“Presidential Pardons”

Read more about the journalists and their stories.